Endowment Dinner

Banquet Reservations

Mission Statement

Officers & Directors

Making the Wax Figure

HdG Decoy Museum


Contact Us

R. Madison Mitchell Endowment Trust
Mission Statement

R. Madison Mitchell
Photo by Joan & Dave Hagan
of Golden Memories Studio

The R. Madison Mitchell Endowment Trust, Inc. was established by Madison Mitchell to provide a permanent, long range source of annual income to aid the Havre de Grace Decoy Museums interpenetration, preservation and acquisition of decoys and related waterfowl items.

It is the intention of the Trust to assist the Havre de Grace decoy Museum in preserving the Waterfowl Heritage and Legacy not only as it relates to the Chesapeake Bay but across the Country.

The Endowments name was selected because Madison Mitchell was one of the Museums founders and a noted decoy carver. Madison Mitchell died in January 1993. The Endowment concept was approved by the Museums Board of Directors and the Mitchell family. The Endowment has established its own Board of Directors, By-laws and filed Articles of Incorporation in order to receive its 501c3 nonprofit status.

The goal of the Endowment is to distribute sixty percent of its annual interest income and reinvest forty percent of its annual income to continually expand its principal. The Endowment exists solely to provide annual support for the Havre de Grace Decoy Museum and derives its income from the annual R. Madison Mitchell Endowment Trust Banquet which is held in March as close to his birthday as possible.

R. Madison Mitchell holding canvasbacks. Photo taken by Charlie Joiner, 1950s

Full-size Canadian Goose being painted by Mr. Mitchell.

Madison carving the decoy heads, which came to the loft by the basketful.

Painting wing feathers on one of only fourteen cork Wood Ducks ever made.

   Board Of Directors

R. Madison Mitchell, Jr. - President

Dr. Louis Silverstein - Vice President

Patrick S. Vincenti - Treasurer

Jeannie R. Vincenti - Secretary

Joesph W. Mitchell Sr.

Madelyn Mitchell Shank

R. Madison Mitchell, III

William E. Collins

E. Mitchell Shank

Merill Dougherty

   Honorary Directors

John O. Mitchell

Dr. William K. Brendle (deceased)